About CHDI

Senior Leadership Team

CHDI is guided by a talented team of leaders dedicated to improving the health and well-being of children in Connecticut.

Jeffrey Vanderploeg, Ph.D. President & CEO
jvanderploeg@uchc.edu | 860-679-1542

Jeff Vanderploeg is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut. He joined CHDI in 2009 and was appointed President and CEO on October 1, 2017.

Read Full Bio

Paul Suter Vice President for Finance & Operations
psuter@uchc.edu | 860-679-1533

In his role as Vice President for Finance & Operations, Paul Suter manages the accounting and finances of both CHDI and its parent organization, the Children's Fund of Connecticut.

Read Full Bio

Lisa Honigfeld, Ph.D. Vice President for Health Initiatives
honigfeld@uchc.edu | 860-679-1523

Lisa Honigfeld, Vice President for Health Initiatives, joined CHDI in 2005. She directs CHDI's efforts to strengthen pediatric primary and preventive care. She is also the Associate Director of the Office for Community Child Health (OCCH) at Connecticut Children's Medical Center. Her responsibilities at CHDI and OCCH include development and oversight of funded projects designed to test innovations in child health services delivery, policy and systems.

Read Full Bio

Jason Lang, Ph.D. Vice President for Mental Health Initiatives
jalang@uchc.edu | 860-679-1550

Jason M. Lang joined CHDI in 2007 was promoted to Vice President of Mental Health Initiatives in 2017. He leads CHDI’s mental health initiatives including in the areas of evidence-based practices (EBPs), trauma informed care, school and community programs, and policy and system development.

Read Full Bio

Julie Tacinelli Vice President for Communications
tacinelli@uchc.edu | 860-679-1534

Julie is the Vice President for Communications where she oversees communications strategy and outreach. She joined CHDI in 2012.

Read Full Bio

Jeana Bracey, Ph.D. Director of School and Community Initiatives
bracey@uchc.edu | 860-679-1524

Jeana Bracey is Director of School and Community Initiatives at CHDI. She joined CHDI in 2011. She oversees several school and community-based systems development activities and has experience in school-based mental health, juvenile justice diversion, cultural and linguistic competency development, and program implementation and evaluation.

Read Full Bio